The car can be a dangerous place for small children if they’re not properly restrained in an age-appropriate safety seat. Mississippi is proof of this fact; more children die in road accidents in Mississippi per year than in any other state, according to 2017 research published in the Journal of Pediatrics. The underlying cause of many of these fatalities is clear – 38 percent of them were not properly buckled up at the time of the crash.
Although car seats cannot stop accidents from happening, they significantly reduce the risk of injuries or death in the event of a collision. Unfortunately, even the best car seats cannot prevent all injuries.
If your child was hurt in a crash with a negligent driver, a Jackson car accident attorney at Heilman Law Group can evaluate your case and help you determine how to proceed. You may be able to recover compensation for any medical bills and other damages you and your family have incurred.
Our extensive background in automobile accident law gives us a unique skill set for handling complex, high-stakes cases. Call 601-914-1025 to discuss your case today.
Child Car Seat Laws in Mississippi: What You Need to Know
Even the most diligent drivers cannot anticipate the actions of other motorists. Even a minor crash can result in severe injuries to young children, especially when they are not properly fastened. In Mississippi, more than one-third of all children killed in car accidents in 2015 were not adequately restrained, according to the Department of Health – and over 90 percent of the state’s child population uses restraints that are inappropriate for their age or weight.
Child car seats have been shown to cut the risk of fatal injuries by 71 percent for infants younger than 1 year old and by 54 percent for toddlers, according to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. This is why drivers in Mississippi are required by law to use a car seat when transporting children, no matter how short the trip may be. Child restraint requirements are structured according to a child’s age and weight:
- Children must use a rear-facing or convertible seat from birth to age 1, or until they weigh 20 lbs;
- From ages 1 to 4, or until they weigh 40 lbs, children must be restrained in a forward-facing safety seat;
- Booster seats should be used for ages 4 through 7; and
- Shoulder-and-lap seat belts can be used for children age 8 and older.
Making sure your children are properly restrained in the correct car seat before you hit the road will go a long way to keeping them alive if you are involved in an accident. If the worst happens and your child is injured by a reckless or negligent motorist, speak to a car accident attorney at Heilman Law Group about your legal options. Call 601-914-1025 to schedule a consultation. To learn more about car accident laws in Mississippi, visit USAttorneys.com.
Heilman Law Group, PA
4266 I-55 North
Jackson, MS 39211